Overview

April 29
10AM PT, 1PM ET

Register

Excited for another typical webinar on the power of cloud computing in higher education? Nope? Well, neither are we.

Join us instead for another new episode of The Gov Tech Show. This time, we’re going to school, with a focus on how cloud computing can help colleges and universities. With your hosts from Government Technology and our partners at Dell Technologies and VMware, we’ll explore the Top 10 myths about cloud in higher education, interview industry experts as well as public IT leaders in higher ed, and play some interactive audience games. Tune in live for this hourlong event that’s anything but a normal webinar. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry and you’ll learn a thing or two.


AGENDA

10:00am PDT | 1:00pm EDT

Opening Monologue – We Need to Talk [About Cloud]

Dustin Haisler, Chief Innovation Officer, e.Republic


10:05am PDT | 1:05pm EDT

Top 10 Cloud Myths

Dustin Haisler, Chief Innovation Officer, e.Republic


10:10am PDT | 1:10pm EDT

Industry Interview

Zach Patton, Chief Editor, Content Studio, e.Republic

Chris Wessells, Senior Higher Education Strategist, Dell Technologies

Herb Thompson, State and Local Government Strategist, VMware


10:25am PDT | 1:25pm EDT

Stump the Pros

This trivia game will test our industry experts’ knowledge of networking, Cloud First, Cloud Smart and more!

Zach Patton, Chief Editor, Content Studio, e.Republic


10:35am PDT | 1:35pm EDT

The Public-Sector Perspective

Dustin Haisler, Chief Innovation Officer, e.Republic

Kendra Ketchum, Vice President for Information Management, University of Texas San Antonio


10:50am PDT | 1:50pm EDT

Thank You Notes


10:55am PDT | 1:55pm EDT

Closing Monologue

Dustin Haisler, Chief Innovation Officer, e.Republic

Zach Patton, Chief Editor, Content Studio, e.Republic


11:00am PDT | 2:00pm EDT End


Speakers

Herb Thompson

Herb Thompson

State and Local Government Strategist, VMware, and former State of Wisconsin Deputy State CIO and CTO, CIO for Health and Family Services and Corrections

Herb is a State, Local and Education Strategist. Having history in various government CIO roles he is responsible for assisting customers achieve their strategic outcomes through understanding their business issues and how policy can impact business outcomes. He has been sharing best practices learned from around the country on optimization, workforce modernization and hybrid cloud. He also is providing insight in practical implementations of AI, Smart Communities and blockchain at many government conferences. Prior to joining in 2018, VMware Herb served as the State of Wisconsin Deputy State CIO and CTO, CIO for Health and Family Services and Corrections.

Chris Wessells

Chris Wessells

Senior Higher Education Strategist, Dell Technologies

Chris Wessells is a Dell Technologies Senior Higher Education Strategist and brings extensive leadership skills as a former University CIO and more than 25 years’ experience working in higher education. Prior to joining Dell Technologies, Chris served as CIO at the University of San Diego. His experience includes responsibility for all aspects of IT strategy, governance, services and support, enterprise applications, network and compute infrastructure, cloud, virtualization, instructional and online academic technologies, high performance research computing, business intelligence/analytics, mobile, portal, and emerging technologies. Chris has a reputation for collaborative decision-making and passion for building a strategic vison and environment of success with Information Technology, IT professionals and major technology initiatives in support of institutional goals. He holds an MS degree from Montana State University and BS degree from the University of California at Davis

 

Kendra Ketchum

Vice President for Information Management, University of Texas San Antonio